Stob Coire Raineach

We did it!! We only went and climbed a Munro, only a little one but a Munro is a Munro!!

20170512_103754Friday was Obi Wan’s 1st birthday and the forecast was good. The 4 year old was also down for a day in nursery. The planets aligned and we decided to give it a go. This was all a bit last minute, so my idea of careful pre-planning went out the window. We got the maps out and looked at what we could get to within an hour and a half, next we looked at how long the walk in was and what the access was like. We settled on Stob Coire Raineach, one of the peaks ofย Buachaille Etive Beag as it was in Glencoe, which is not too far. The access car park was already part of the way up so we wouldn’t be going from sea level (cheating a wee bit) and you were straight onto the mountain without a long hike in.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAI wasn’t totally sure on which wrap to take, 2 of mine which I had been considering had just returned from holiday and I hadn’t really worn them since so I could make a decision. In the end I went with my gut instinct and chose Firespiral’s Crucible Burnish Petrography a wool/hemp/cotton blend. I wanted something which would be rock solid, comfortable, warm yet breathable. I would have picked Delph Aqua but I only have it in a 4 and wanted a longer wrap. As for carry, it was always going to be Charlie’s Cross Carry which is pretty much bomb proof. I used a ring on my chest and tied under bum to distribute the weight and give a little more support. I also wanted a reasonably low carry to keep the birthday boy sheltered from the wind.

20170512_110845We stopped about a third of the way up to have a snack, thinking that Ben looked sleepy. He then got the hiccups and didn’t actually sleep till we got onto the ridge, almost at the summit. I love the look of surprise when other walkers realise you have a baby on your back, not a rucksack ๐Ÿ™‚ Consequently he slept through his 1st summit. We decided to be happy with 1 peak and not go across the ridge to Stob Dubh on this occasion.DSC04575

The descent was by far the hardest part, from the loose scree at the top, down the leg jarring, steep, rock steps and then back across to the carpark. We stopped about 20 minutes from the carpark as I wanted to change carries as the constant descent had worked my carry a bit loose and down my back and was getting uncomfortable. We then had to perform a nappy change on the mountainside as he’d done a gigantic stinky poo ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We switched to a nice high ruck and hiked back to the car park.DSC04576

I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to do it but I’m so glad I did. The only question is, what Munro is next…???

Leave a Reply

